GIRL Shakes Loose

ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE

Zakiyyah Alexander and Imani Uzuri’s
GIRL SHAKES LOOSE
A powerful, coming-of-age musical and world premiere
Directed by May Adrales

Why is it so hard to grow up? GIRL is a good girl: smart, beautiful, and a little rebellious, or, as her family would say, “hard-headed.” For the most part, she has played by the rules, finishing college and then graduate school. She is perfectly poised for success, but something is in her way. Floundering in love, life, and career, GIRL goes on a journey to discover what she’s missing, but wherever she goes, there she is. Eventually, GIRL learns that what she’s seeking is herself: powerful, grounded, and so much stronger than she thought. A groundbreaking new musical by Zakiyyah Alexander and Imani Uzuri, GIRL Shakes Loose is the soulful story of one woman’s search for herself. Featuring the lush poetry of Sonia Sanchez and a stirring original score, you won’t want to miss this world premiere. Brimming with hope, humor, and headstrong passion, you’ll cheer GIRL on, remembering your own journey along the way.

MIMOSA AND A MUSICAL
At Dixies on Grand!

Enjoy a Southern-style breakfast and a complimentary mimosa when you dine at Dixie’s on Grand before one of our weekend matinee performances. Simply present proof of purchase to redeem your offer. Valid with purchase of breakfast and ticket to the show. Limit one per customer.

Opening Night is sponsored by RBC Wealth Management. This production is made possible in part through the generous support of The Joyce Foundation, The Jerome Foundation, the Cultural STAR Program, and The Map Fund. Supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts. 

MULTIMEDIA AND PRESS

DATES AND TICKETS

Tuesday, April 18, 2017 // 7:30PM

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 // 7:30PM

Thursday, April 20, 2017 // 7:30PM

Friday, April 21, 2017 // 7:30PM

Saturday, April 22, 2017 // 2:00PM

Saturday, April 22, 2017 // 7:30PM

Sunday, April 23, 2017 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 // 10:00AM

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 // 7:30PM

Thursday, April 27, 2017 // 7:30PM

Friday, April 28, 2017 // 7:30PM

Saturday, April 29, 2017 // 2:00PM

Saturday, April 29, 2017 // 7:30PM

Sunday, April 30, 2017 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 // 10:00AM

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 // 7:30PM

Thursday, May 4, 2017 // 7:30PM

Friday, May 5, 2017 // 7:30PM

Saturday, May 6, 2017 // 2:00PM

Saturday, May 6, 2017 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 7, 2017 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 // 7:30PM

Thursday, May 11, 2017 // 7:30PM

Friday, May 12, 2017 // 7:30PM

Saturday, May 13, 2017 // 2:00PM

Saturday, May 13, 2017 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 14, 2017 // 2:00PM