August Wilson's Jitney: Featuring an all-star cast of Wilson veterans

ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE

August Wilson’s
JITNEY
Directed by Lou Bellamy

It is 1977, and in the Hill District of Pittsburgh, city officials threaten to level a makeshift taxi dispatch office where neighbors have gathered for years. At a time when safe and comfortable transit was not guaranteed for black customers, Becker’s car service provided mobility and a modicum of respect for the community. Now his building has been identified as prime real estate for redevelopment, and he might be forced out of business. Meanwhile, his estranged son has been released from prison and wants to come home. As pressure mounts, Becker is forced to reckon with powers beyond his control. Jitney is an “explosive” and “gripping” portrait of African American life from the pen of one of America’s greatest writers. Join us for a riveting production brought to you by the nationally-known and critically-acclaimed creative team at Penumbra Theatre.

CAST: James T. Alfred, Booster; Terry Bellamy, Turnbo; James Craven, Becker; Abdul Salaam El Razzac, Doub; Jasmine Hughes, Rena; Darrick Mosley, Youngblood; T. Mychael Rambo and Ahanti Young, Philmore; Marcus Naylor, Fielding; Kevin D. West, Shealy

Post-Play Discussions
October 20, 27, November 3 and 10, 2016
When faced with the loss of a dream, what can you do to persevere? How can we nourish our communities to ensure they thrive? Join us as we explore the ingenuity and creativity that make underserved communities resource-rich in spite of inequity.

Opening Night is sponsored by Comcast NBC Universal

MULTIMEDIA AND PRESS

READ REVIEWS ON JITNEY

Star Tribune by Rohan Preston
Pioneer Press by Dominic Papatola
City Pages by Jay Gabler
MinnPost by Pamela Espeland
Minnesota Theatre Love
HowWasTheShow.com

FEATURE ARTICLES
“Uber actor James Craven transports people, onstage and in his car” via the Star Tribune
“Actor T. Mychael Rambo found a new life on stage” via the Pioneer Press

DATES AND TICKETS

Tuesday, October 11, 2016 // 7:30PM

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, October 13, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, October 14, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, October 15, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, October 15, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, October 16, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, October 20, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, October 21, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, October 22, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, October 22, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, October 23, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, October 27, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, October 28, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, October 29, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, October 29, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, October 30, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, November 2, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, November 3, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, November 4, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, November 5, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, November 5, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, November 6, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 // 10:00AM

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, November 10, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, November 11, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, November 12, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, November 12, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, November 13, 2016 // 2:00PM