Pipeline: Is There No Way Out?

ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE

Dominique Morisseau’s
PIPELINE
Directed by Lou Bellamy

Omari is caught between two worlds. Raised in the city, he attends a private college preparatory school upstate, far from his roots and his family. His mother, Nya, is walking a tightrope: send him away and risk the dangers of discrimination, or keep him near and tempt the trouble waiting on the block. After a run in with a white teacher, the halls of his elite school turn out to be as unsafe as the city’s streets. A searing story of a mother trying to protect her young son from a world that can’t see the little boy she loves.

Subscriptions and single tickets are now on sale to the public. Order a subscription package of your choice and receive up to $50 in savings, free ticket exchange privileges, and lost ticket insurance. Purchase online or by calling 651.224.3180 Monday through Friday, from 10am-4:30pm.

Season Sponsors:

MULTIMEDIA AND PRESS

ABOUT THE PLAYWRIGHT
Dominique Morisseau is an acclaimed playwright, actor, and 2018 MacArthur Fellow whose stirring, compassionate work captures the lives of people in communities grappling with economic and social change. Through lyrical dialogue, she conjures emotionally complex characters and reveals their humor, vulnerability, and fortitude in the face of profound struggle. Her work has been staged and commissioned by celebrated companies including Steppenwolf Theatre, the Hip Hop Theater Festival, the Public Theater, and Penumbra Theatre.

FEATURE STORIES
“Playwright explores black children’s humanity” via StarTribune
“Pipeline” via CityPages
“Lou Bellamy on the role theater can play in its community” via MPR News
“Kory Laquess” via KMOJ

REVIEWS
“Morisseau’s ‘Pipeline’ packs a wallop at St. Paul’s Penumbra Theatre” via StarTribune
“Penumbra’s ‘Pipeline’ is disturbing and necessary” via Pioneer Press
“Pipeline” via Talkin’ Broadway
“Eloquent, Timely Pipeline at Penumbra Theatre” via Broadway World
“Pipeline at Penumbra Theatre” via Cherry and Spoon

 

DATES AND TICKETS

Tuesday, October 1, 2019 // 7:30PM

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 // 7:30PM

Thursday, October 3, 2019 // 7:30PM

Friday, October 4, 2019 // 7:30PM

Saturday, October 5, 2019 // 2:00PM

Saturday, October 5, 2019 // 7:30PM

Sunday, October 6, 2019 // 2:00PM

Monday, October 7, 2019 // 7:30PM

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 // 10:00AM

Thursday, October 10, 2019 // 10:00AM

Thursday, October 10, 2019 // 7:30PM

Friday, October 11, 2019 // 7:30PM

Saturday, October 12, 2019 // 2:00PM

Saturday, October 12, 2019 // 7:30PM

Sunday, October 13, 2019 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 // 10:00AM

Thursday, October 17, 2019 // 7:30PM

Friday, October 18, 2019 // 7:30PM

Saturday, October 19, 2019 // 2:00PM

Saturday, October 19, 2019 // 7:30PM

Sunday, October 20, 2019 // 2:00PM