SUNSET BABY

ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE

by Dominique Morisseau
Directed by Lou Bellamy

Ashanti and Kenyatta met in the prime of their youth and at the pinnacle of their political consciousness. Beautiful, brave, and idealistic, they never imagined what would come of their Revolution: how it would be dismantled from the inside with drugs and conspiracy, how young intellectuals and activists would be brutalized in the streets, how the media would reduce them from caring community members to criminals. Three decades later, Kenyatta is searching for connection after being locked away in prison. During that time, the love of his life succumbed to a deadly combination of heartbreak and drugs. In the wake of so much loss and disappointment, one fire still burns – the light inside the child born of their passion – Nina. Will she be overcome by the ghosts of the past? Or, will she blaze a new trail, harnessing today’s revolutionary spirit?

POST PLAY DISCUSSION
April 21, 28, & May 5, 2016
What is today’s revolution? What is the cost? Who are the leaders guiding us toward positive social action? Join us for a discussion about today’s movement toward equity.

BOOKEND PACKAGE
April 18 & May 2, 2016. 12:30pm to 2:00pm
$15 per person >> PURCHASE
Learn more about the play with other curious theatre lovers! At the first Bookend class, explore the script and gain insight into the production. Then, see the play on your own. Finally, return for the second Bookend class to enjoy a lively discussion about the issues the play illuminates. Price includes tickets to both Bookend classes; does not include tickets to the performance.

MULTIMEDIA AND PRESS

DATES AND TICKETS

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 // 7:30PM

Wednesday, April 13, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, April 14, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, April 15, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, April 16, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, April 16, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, April 17, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, April 21, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, April 22, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, April 23, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, April 23, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, April 24, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, April 27, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, April 28, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, April 29, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, April 30, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, April 30, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 1, 2016 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, May 4, 2016 // 10:00AM

Wednesday, May 4, 2016 // 7:30PM

Thursday, May 5, 2016 // 7:30PM

Friday, May 6, 2016 // 7:30PM

Saturday, May 7, 2016 // 2:00PM

Saturday, May 7, 2016 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 8, 2016 // 2:00PM