This Bitter Earth

ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE

THIS BITTER EARTH
By Harrison David Rivers
Directed by Talvin Wilks

Neil is a handsome, wealthy white man who is a passionate advocate for civil rights. Jesse is an introspective black playwright coming to terms with his own activism. As racial tensions mount with the extrajudicial killings of black men throughout the country, the young couple is forced to contend with the politics of their love. Written poetically by Harrison David Rivers, this timely story is a haunting reminder of the strength it takes to love outloud.

Enjoy a limited-edition This Bitter Earth cocktail
As a commitment to fight against hate, build community over common ground, and provide safe space for people to reflect, celebrate and simply be, Amsterdam Bar and Hall, Can Can Wonderland, and Camp Bar have each created limited edition cocktails in honor of This Bitter Earth by Harrison David Rivers! After the show, receive $2 off any of the drinks with your ticket stub. Don’t forget to celebrate your love and all love by posting a picture with your cocktail and tagging us @PenumbraTheatre!

MULTIMEDIA AND PRESS

FEATURE ARTICLES
“Three Twin Cities plays wrestle with interracial marriage”–Star Tribune
“St. Paul interracial romance is not a true story but parts of the play are true”–Star Tribune
“This Bitter Earth at Penumbra”–MinnPost
“Surprises await on Twin Cities stages this spring and summer”–Pioneer Press

REVIEWS
“witty interracial drama is another winner from St. Paul playwright”–Star Tribune
“compact, powerful story about two men and the complicated love they share'”–CityPages
“engages the mind, the conscience and the heart”–Cherry and Spoon
“seriously, Penumbra is killing it! ‘”–Compendium

DATES AND TICKETS

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 // 7:30PM

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 // 7:30PM

Thursday, April 26, 2018 // 7:30PM

Friday, April 27, 2018 // 7:30PM

Saturday, April 28, 2018 // 2:00PM

Saturday, April 28, 2018 // 7:30PM

Sunday, April 29, 2018 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 // 7:30PM

Thursday, May 3, 2018 // 7:30PM

Friday, May 4, 2018 // 7:30PM

Saturday, May 5, 2018 // 2:00PM

Saturday, May 5, 2018 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 6, 2018 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 // 7:30PM

Thursday, May 10, 2018 // 7:30PM

Friday, May 11, 2018 // 7:30PM

Saturday, May 12, 2018 // 2:00PM

Saturday, May 12, 2018 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 13, 2018 // 2:00PM

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 // 7:30PM

Thursday, May 17, 2018 // 7:30PM

Friday, May 18, 2018 // 7:30PM

Saturday, May 19, 2018 // 2:00PM

Saturday, May 19, 2018 // 7:30PM

Sunday, May 20, 2018 // 2:00PM